Check out what's new with GACE!
 
 
 

GACE Gazette


November 2016



 
 


Please read below for GACE Committee updates and other member announcements.

Career Fair Committee



GACE Statewide Career Fair 

The Statewide Career Fair Committee is hard at work on the 12thAnnual GACE Statewide Career Fair. The event will take place on April 12, 2017.EARLY BIRD Registration is open!

Don’t forget to complete your school commitment form. Youroffice should have received it via email. If you have not received it pleasecontact Roslyn Brown roslynbrown@clayton.eduand/or Jenny Jang jjang@macoc.com.  


Conference Committee



The 2017 GACE Annual Conference at Lake Lanier is only 7 months away, and the conference committee is extremely excited about planning the event. The proposal link for break-out sessions will officially open on December 9th. This year the committee is looking for new, innovative, and informative break-out session topics and wants your input! If you have attended a workshop or know of a unique speaker with expertise in a topic you desire to hear more from, please feel free to refer those individuals to submit a proposal or contact the Programming subcommittee (Theresa Duggar – tduggar@georgiasouthern.edu & Davia Woulard – davia.woulard@chattahoocheetech.edu) for more information.


Membership Committee



Mark your calendar for the next GACE Membership Networking Event.

December 15th, 5:30PM
Urban Tree Cidery
1465 Howell Mill Road, Atlanta, GA


Registration opens November 7th

- Space is limited and RSVP required  

- Taste great ciders and appetizers as well as have access to beer and wine options

- Network with current and new GACE members 




Partner with GACE

Employers

Interested in creating brand awareness to all Georgia Colleges and Universities? Have an amazing product or service that you want to market and you can't get Career Services to return your call? We can help! For more information on how you can partner with GACE, please visit www.gace.org/Partner or contact Sponsorship Chairs, Amy Taulbee, ataulbee@georgiasouthern.edu or Kenji Terawaki, kenji.terawaki@gatech.edu.




Marketing Committee

The Marketing Committee is seeking volunteers to help with social media during the GACE Statewide Career Fair and the Annual Conference. If you are interested, please email Amy Lancaster at alancaster@macoc.com and Laura Garcia at laura.garcia2@emory.edu.

We are also working on purchasing promotional items to be used for conference and the career fair. The committee is also building its calendar of marketing for both major events, in addition to working with our other committees.



Member Resources

Member Directory

Presentations from Conference

Submit an event 

GACE Calendar




Technology Committee 

We’ve been busy with web updates for the GACE Statewide Career Fair. Registration is live on 11/14!

  1. Statewide Career Fair website: gace.org/careerfair
  2. Employers: learn about branding opportunities
  3. Fair registration link: gace.org/event-2359812

Help us out! Do you have colleagues that might be interested in helping with the Technology committee? No coding necessary! Contact Michelle Berg.


Resources & Events

SAVE THE DATE!!

Health IT Internship Summit - Dec. 7, 2016

More details will be posted at:

http://www.internnavigator.com/events.html







Professional Development Committee

GACE welcomed Dr. Phil Gardner, (Director of the Collegiate Employment Research Institute at Michigan State University and Executive Director of MSU Career Service Network) and Amy Lancaster (Director, Workforce Development at the Metro Atlanta Chamber) during the professional development workshop.  The session also included a panel of employers that provided information on their experiences with recruiting trends.  The panel included Lori Robinson, Northside Hospital, Barbara Blevens, Lexisnexis and Alex Johnson, PWC .We had 68 participants in attendance.  The session provided information about talent on demand and the importance of higher education and employers matching their calendars to seize the best opportunity for placement. Dr. Gardner indicated that 94% of employers expect to hire at least one new graduate, 51% expect to increase hiring over the next year and 21% of employers having hiring targets.

Amy L. provided insights on the recruiting trends and  talents gaps in the state of Georgia. Trending occupational gaps are in business and computer science. Be sure to join us for future workshops!


Stay informed of what's happening at member schools, visit the GACE calendar at http://gace.org/GACECalendar. Also follow us on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

 


 
 
 
 
  Copyright © 2016 {GACE}. All rights reserved.
Contact email: {laura.garcia2@emory.edu or alancaster@macoc.com}
Facebook   Twitter
You are receiving this message because you are a member at {www.gace.org}
Unsubscribe
 
 
 

 

GACE Would Like to Thank Our Sponsors:


Gold Partner:


Silver Partner:


Bronze Partners:

     

© Copyright GACE - Georgia Association of Colleges & Employers - All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software